LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR PANEL

18 SEPTEMBER 2023

Present: Councillor Merry(Chairperson) Councillors Dilwar Ali, Driscoll, Hopkins, Lent and Robson

Barbara Connell, Cardiff Governors Representative also attended the meeting.

10 : APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Cllr Ash Lister.

Councillor Robson indicated that he would have to leave the meeting early.

11 : DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

The following declarations of interest were received in accordance with the Members' Code of Conduct.

NAME	AGENDA ITEM NO	NATURE OF	REASON FOR INTEREST
Cllr Lent	6a – Baden Powell Primary School	Personal	Knows applicant
Cllr Merry	6a – Hywel Dda Primary School	Personal	Knows applicant through employment
Cllr Hopkins	6a – Hywel Dda Primary School		Applicant is former colleague
Cllr Merry	6a – Pencaerau Primary School	Personal	Knows applicant through employment
Cllrs Merry, Ali, Driscoll, Hopkins, Lent and Robson	6a – Severn Primary School	Personal	Fellow Councillor
Cllr Hopkins	6b – Adamsdown Primary School	Personal	Former Colleague
Cllrs Merry, Ali, Driscoll, Hopkins and Lent	6b – Albany Primary School	Personal	Fellow Councillor
Cllr Hopkins	6b – St Patrick's R.C Primary School	Personal	Former Colleague
Cllrs Merry, Ali, Driscoll, Hopkins and Lent	6b – Stacey Primary School	Personal	Fellow Councillor

12 : MINUTES

The minutes of the meeting of the 21 March 2023 were approved as a correct record of that meeting subject to the amendment of Minute No 105, to show that Cllr Adrian Robson had a personal interest in item 6a – Springwood Primary School on the basis that the applicant was a fellow Councillor.

Approval of the minutes of the 19 June were deferred until the next meeting.

13 : LOCAL AUTHORITY SCHOOL GOVERNOR VACANCIES

The Committee received and noted the list of vacancies.

14 : EXCLUSION OF THE PUBLIC

The Committee RESOLVED to exclude the public for the following items of business a they contain exempt information by virtue of Paragraphs 12 and 21 of Parts 4 and 5, Schedule 12A, Local Government Act 1972

15 : NOMINATIONS TO LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR VACANCIES

The Committee received and considered application to current vacancies against criteria, matching skills to vacancies.

RESOLVED: That the Council be recommended to approve the recommendations of the Panel to appoint the following persons to current Local Authority Governing Body vacancies:

School Name	Ward	Start of Vacancy	Applications Received
Allensbank Primary School	Gabalfa	22/12/2022	Ruth Davies
Baden Powell Primary School	Splott	02/07/2023	Morgan Fackrell
Creigiau Primary School	Pentyrch & St Fagans	20/01/2022	Clarissa Brind
Fairwater Primary School	Fairwater	17/02/2023	Arinze Anarado
Howardian Primary School	Penylan	22/07/2023	Christopher Parry
Hywel Dda Primary School	Ely	12/01/2022	Anita Batten
Pencaerau Primary School	Caerau	16/03/2023	Tania Davies
Peter Lea Primary School	Fairwater	27/06/2022	Anthony O'Donnell
Radyr Primary School	Radyr & Morganstown	08/03/2023	Tyrell Leon
Severn Primary School	Riverside	19/07/2023	Cllr Leonora Thomson
St John Lloyd R.C Primary School	Trowbridge	07/08/2023	Teresa McCarthy
Ysgol Glan Ceubal x 2 vacancies	Llandaff North	26/04/2023 15/08/2023	Alayla Castle-Herbert Evangeline Kirupairajah
Ysgol Gymraeg Coed-Y- Gof	Fairwater	04/10/2022	Elin Merriman

The Committee received and considered application to future vacancies against criteria, matching skills to vacancies.

RESOLVED: That the Council be recommended to approve the recommendations of the Panel to appoint the following persons to current Local Authority Governing Body vacancies:

School Name	Ward	Start of Vacancy	Applications Received
Adamsdown Primary School	Adamsdown	29/10/2023	John Dixon
Albany Primary School	Plasnewydd	23/10/2023	Cllr Mary McGarry
All Saints C.W Primary School	Pentwyn	23/10/2023	Stephen Hendrickson
Herbert Thompson Primary School	Ely	29/11/2023	Dr Carole Jones
Kitchener Primary School	Riverside	29/11/2023	Abigail Davis
Lansdowne Primary School	Canton	29/11/2023	James Searle
St Patrick's R.C Primary School	Grangetown	29/11/2023	Pamela James
Stacey Primary School	Adamsdown	29/11/2023	Cllr Owen Jones
Ysgol Gymraeg Melin Gruffydd	Whitchurch & Tongwynlais	29/11/2023	Rhodri Jones
Ysgol Gynradd Groes- Wen	Pentyrch & St Fagans	06/11/2023 06/11/2023 06/11/2023	Katherine Morris Eleri Hurley Daniel Tiplady
Ysgol Pencae	Llandaff	29/11/2023	lan Speakman

16 : URGENT ITEMS (IF ANY)

No urgent items were received

17 : DATE OF NEXT MEETING

The next meeting of the Panel is on Monday 20 November 2023 at 2.00 pm

The meeting terminated at 3.10 pm